Should We All Be Reading More Slowly?

What’s more important? Finishing our TBR or enjoying the process of reading?

Image Description: A cup of tea and two books surrounded by white flowers

I am, and always have been, a quick reader.  

On average, it’s said the average reading speed for an adult is 260 words per minute for fiction and around 238 words per minute for nonfiction. If it’s technical material [scientific journals for example] this is reduced again. There are tests you can do on the internet to find out how quick you read. From a quick test on the Internet, my reading speed to achieve 100% comprehension was apparently just under 400.

When I found out my score, I was both satisfied, but instantly wondered how I could beat that score.

Now, this could be due to my incredibly competitive nature. It could also be due to wanting to read as many books as possible. Alternatively, it is due to our high-paced capitalist society making us feel we should be as productive as possible all the time and anything less than that is a failure.

However, does speed really matter? Slow reading is something I’ve heard more and more about and, it turns out, there are tons of benefits for reading a bit more slowly:

Benefits of Slow Reading

You Stay in the World for Longer

Simple: by slowing down the pace, we get to stay in our favourite worlds for longer.

There is nothing better than being completely absorbed by the world of a book. Being able to curl up and feel yourself taken from the present to somewhere completely different every time you nestle amongst the pages is one of the world’s great joys. Erin Morgenstern’s writing has always encapsulated this feeling for me, particularly The Night Circus. Her writing makes me want to slow down my reading pace, take in every last detail, and never leave.

You Retain More Details

Science time. Ever had that moment when someone asks you about your most recent read and you struggle to remember the plot?

When we read quickly, we effectively only take the words into our short term memory which, as the name suggests, is lost pretty quickly. However, if we read more slowly, the words, themes and world transfer into our long term memory. By reading more slowly, we allow ourselves to remember way more details about the book we have just enjoyed long after we finish it.

It Actually Helps Our Mental Health

Reading as an activity is great for our wellbeing (a whole other article). However, slow reading intensifies that. It works in the same way as many mindfulness activities, ensuring we take the time out of our hectic attention-demanding lives to just do one thing and fully absorb ourselves in it. Slow reading encourages us to take each word and appreciate it for what it is, bringing us back to why we love reading in the first place.

So is Slow Reading Better?

My opinion? It doesn’t matter how fast or slow you go as long as you just enjoy the process of reading. That’s what we’re all here for in the first place, right?

I love my annual reading lists, and get a real spark of joy from reading more, particularly if I beat last year’s book count. It’s not something I will stop. And I still love reading a novella or graphic novel all in one sitting. However, I think more slow reading moments would be a great addition to my reading life, setting time aside with a cup of tea to just focus on the words of my most anticipated release.

So next time you want to race through the book you’ve been waiting for for ages, take a moment. Is there a way you can make your time with that book even more special by just slowly down and appreciating every sentence?

I’d love to hear your thoughts below.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started